Unowned

News nobody owns. Told by the people who were there.

Early edition: we're still checking some entries. Spot an error? Tell us.

Story tracker · India

The Cockroach Janta Party movement

What happened, what is confirmed, and where the accounts disagree, from the exam leak in May to the protests against the Election Commission in October.

Season 2 activeLatest development: Nov 7, 2026Checked for news
0Want this followed closely? Upvote it.
This story is in the daily briefingNov 7 · 6:25Briefing: Albania, France, India, Canada and Serbia

In 30 seconds

Swipe through. The full record, with every source, is below.

  1. 1/5 · What's happening

    • The Cockroach Janta Party (CJP) began on May 16 as a satirical online response to remarks by Chief Justice Surya Kant, a day after he reportedly likened some unemployed youth to cockroaches.
  2. 2/5 · Latest

    • Reported Nov 7 The Cockroach Janta Party called a protest at Rajendra Maidan in Kochi on Saturday, demanding withdrawal of the Special Intensive Revision of electoral rolls, The Week reports.
  3. 3/5 · What's confirmed

    • Confirmed Nov 1 Tens of thousands join the INDIA opposition bloc's rally at New Delhi's Ramlila Maidan, led by Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and backed by the Cockroach Janta Party, demanding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar resign over a voter-list revision that removed more than 130 million names, AP and…
    • Confirmed Oct 31 Cockroach Janta Party founder Abhijeet Dipke said the party backs the INDIA bloc's November 1 Ramlila Maidan rally against Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar but will not take part, calling the CJP "a neutral platform", Hindustan Times, Outlook India and The Tribune report.
  4. 4/5 · What's disputed

    Is the CJP partisan?

    • One accountOpponents: an opposition gimmick, citing Dipke's past work for the Aam Aadmi Party.
    • Other accountDipke: he will not support any party and has no immediate plans to form one.
  5. 5/5 · What's next

    • Nov 21 The Special Executive Magistrate hearing for the CJP leaders summoned over the Jantar Mantar protest listed for the third week of November, and whether the Crime Branch reissues its summons to them.

Save these cards as images to share

How sure are we?
  • Confirmed2+ outlets
  • Reported1 outlet
  • Disputedsides disagree
  • Allegedone side's claim
  • Checkingbeing checked

Live updates

Newest first. Updated as news breaks.

Where things stand

The Cockroach Janta Party (CJP) began on May 16 as a satirical online response to remarks by Chief Justice Surya Kant, a day after he reportedly likened some unemployed youth to cockroaches. Anger over the cancelled NEET medical entrance exam turned it into a street movement.

Read more

After a 36-day protest in Delhi, including a July 20 march met with tear gas and batons, Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan resigned on July 25 and the CJP called off its protest, saying its demands had been accepted. From August, the CJP said the government had not honoured those commitments, chiefly withdrawing criminal cases against protesters and compensating families of students who died by suicide.

Season 2 began in October with a new demand: the resignation of Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar over a voter-roll revision that critics say favours the ruling BJP. The Election Commission and the BJP deny this. On October 10, police detained founder Abhijeet Dipke and two leaders from their plane in Delhi, and thousands of protesters were detained. The leaders were released on October 11 on condition of no breach of peace for a year, and say they will continue.

CJP spokespeople Saurav Das and Ashutosh Ranka were held in judicial custody after a Delhi court extended their detention by two more days on October 19, which their lawyers called unlawful delay and alleged threatened sureties. The CJP moved the Delhi High Court seeking their immediate release; after the court did not take up an urgent night hearing on October 20, it agreed on October 21 to hear the plea urgently, then declined to grant relief, telling them the proper remedy lay in revision rather than a writ petition. The two withdrew the plea, and later on October 21 the Special Executive Magistrate's court rejected a police bid to extend their custody and ordered their release; they walked out of Tihar Jail that day after furnishing personal bonds of Rs 50,000 each, matching sureties and written undertakings to keep the peace and not call for protests at Jantar Mantar until it is renotified as a protest site, with the case next listed for October 23. On October 23, the magistrate's court verified their sureties and listed the case for the third week of November, while the Delhi High Court separately dismissed a challenge by AISA president Neha Bora to a peace-bond notice served on her.

From the ground

Posts and videos, checked against news reports. Described, not embedded, so no one tracks you here.

InstagramOct 16Reported

Cockroach Janta Party (official account)

A live video in which police stop founder Abhijeet Dipke as he walks out of a house, and drive him away in a police car after a brief argument.

How we checked: Described by AFP and Reuters, which say the footage was streamed live on the party's Instagram account.

Sources: Dawn (AFP, Reuters)

Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

XOct 16Reported

M K Stalin, DMK president

A post calling on the central government to release Dipke and student leader Neha Bora and to say where they are being held.

How we checked: Reported by PTI; not yet independently confirmed by a second outlet.

Sources: ThePrint (PTI)

Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

XOct 14Confirmed

Abhijeet Dipke, CJP founder

A post addressed to Prime Minister Modi after two CJP spokespeople were jailed, saying that if the government wants to crush dissent it should officially declare an Emergency.

How we checked: Reported by AP; Dipke repeated the "unofficial Emergency" charge to reporters in Nagpur the same day (UNI).

Sources: AP (via WDIV) · UNI

Confirmed by independent reports from AP and UNI. How we label

XOct 14Reported

Rahul Gandhi, Leader of the Opposition

A post calling the arrests at Jantar Mantar an act of cowardice and saying the site belongs to the people of India.

How we checked: Quoted by AP.

Sources: AP (via WDIV)

Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

Video, shared on XAug 7Reported

Filmer not identified

Dipke in a heated argument with a police sub-inspector outside his home in Maharashtra, after the officer reportedly stopped guests from visiting him.

How we checked: The Week reported on the video but said it could not verify the exact context; the date of the incident is not known.

Sources: The Week

Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

Seen a post we should check? Send the link.

At a glance

Five months, five phases

Filled marker: the latest major development. Hover or tap a marker for the event.

Instagram followers, five days after launch

May 21, 2026. Source: The Mooknayak. The CJP passed about 22 million within days (Reuters).

People injured on July 20, per Delhi Police

Source: AP, citing Delhi Police. A protest monitor estimates 60 to 150 protesters injured; the figures are disputed.

People detained around the October 10 protest

Sources: UNI (night before), DPA via Qatar Tribune (Indian media range), CJP statement (nationwide claim, not independently confirmed).

Where it happened

Positions are approximate, plotted by latitude and longitude. This is not a map of borders.

Timeline

Show 18 earlier events

May

The exam leak and the remark

  1. May 3
    Confirmed

    NEET-UG medical entrance exam held; about 22 lakh students take it.

    Sources: Newslaundry · Daily Excelsior

    Confirmed by independent reports from Newslaundry and Daily Excelsior. How we label

  2. May 12
    Confirmed

    Exam cancelled over an alleged paper leak and the CBI asked to investigate. Rajasthan police say about 120 of 410 questions in a circulated "guess paper" matched the real exam.

    Sources: Scroll · Daily Pioneer · Daily Excelsior

    Confirmed by independent reports from Scroll, Daily Pioneer and Daily Excelsior. How we label

  3. May 15
    Disputed

    During an unrelated hearing, Chief Justice Surya Kant reportedly likens some unemployed youngsters to cockroaches who become activists and attack the system. The wording is reported consistently; what he meant is disputed.

    Sources: Free Press Journal (PTI) · Live Law

    Disputed: the accounts conflict. Both are given, with their sources. How we label

May

An online movement, and the takedowns

  1. May 16
    Confirmed

    The Chief Justice says he was misquoted and meant people with fake degrees. The same day, Abhijeet Dipke, then in Boston, launches the Cockroach Janta Party online.

    Sources: The Quint · ETV Bharat

    Confirmed by independent reports from The Quint and ETV Bharat. How we label

  2. May 21
    Confirmed

    The CJP's X account is withheld in India after a legal demand, and a new account opens within hours. Its Instagram reaches about 13.9 million followers, passing the BJP's 8.8 million.

    Sources: Outlook · Daily Excelsior · The Mooknayak

    Confirmed by independent reports from Outlook, Daily Excelsior and The Mooknayak. How we label

  3. May 23
    Alleged

    Dipke says the government took down the CJP website and that CJP and personal Instagram accounts were hacked. The government has not confirmed any action.

    Sources: Al Jazeera · Khaleej Times (Reuters)

    Alleged: one side's claim, not independently confirmed. How we label

June to July

From Boston to Jantar Mantar

  1. Jun 1
    Confirmed

    Dipke announces he will fly back on June 6 to protest, saying his family believes he will be arrested at the airport.

    Sources: ETV Bharat · The Mooknayak

    Confirmed by independent reports from ETV Bharat and The Mooknayak. How we label

  2. Jun 6
    Confirmed

    Dipke lands in Delhi and protests begin at Jantar Mantar.

    Sources: Reuters via Aaj · Kerala Kaumudi

    Confirmed by independent reports from Reuters and Kerala Kaumudi. How we label

  3. Jul 19
    Confirmed

    Delhi Police say no permission was sought or granted for a march to Parliament.

    Sources: Khaleej Times · The Week

    Confirmed by independent reports from Khaleej Times and The Week. How we label

  4. Jul 20
    Disputed

    "Chalo Sansad" march to Parliament, about 50,000 by one estimate. Police use tear gas and batons; mobile internet is suspended in Delhi; people are detained in Delhi, Mumbai and Bengaluru. Injury figures differ between police and monitors.

    Sources: AP (via WTOP) · Al Jazeera · Columbia Global Freedom of Expression

    Disputed: the accounts conflict. Both are given, with their sources. How we label

  5. Jul 21
    Reported

    Opposition leader Rahul Gandhi and Congress MPs stage a sit-in outside the Prime Minister's residence. Amnesty International criticises the police action.

    Sources: AP

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  6. Jul 22
    Confirmed

    The CJP's Instagram account is withheld in India after a legal request to Meta.

    Sources: Free Press Journal · Outlook

    Confirmed by independent reports from Free Press Journal and Outlook. How we label

  7. Jul 23
    Reported

    Prime Minister Modi promises fast-track courts for officials accused in exam leaks; a CJP spokesman calls it a "band-aid".

    Sources: Columbia Global Freedom of Expression

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  8. Jul 25
    Confirmed

    Pradhan resigns. The CJP ends its 36-day protest, saying all its demands were accepted; a federal minister also says they were accepted.

    Sources: AP · Al Jazeera

    Confirmed by independent reports from AP and Al Jazeera. How we label

August to September

Were the promises kept?

  1. Aug 4
    Reported

    Dipke says the CJP has no immediate plans to become a political party.

    Sources: Reuters via Aaj

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  2. Aug 15
    Reported

    The CJP's Instagram is inaccessible in India for about two hours. Meta gives no reason.

    Sources: Outlook

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  3. Aug 24
    Confirmed

    The CJP says the government broke its July 25 commitments and calls a September 5 march. Delhi Police say no permission request has been received.

    Sources: Khaleej Times (ANI) · The Week · Sentinel Assam

    Confirmed by independent reports from ANI, The Week and Sentinel Assam. How we label

  4. Aug 31
    Reported

    The Supreme Court issues notice on a plea against the September 5 protest and sets a hearing for September 10.

    Sources: Indian Awaaz (Live Law)

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

October

Season 2: the Election Commission

  1. Oct 8
    Reported

    CJP rally in Bengaluru demanding the Chief Election Commissioner's resignation; Dhruv Rathee is among those attending.

    Sources: Prothom Alo (AFP)

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  2. Oct 10
    Disputed

    Central Delhi is sealed, with metro stations shut and mobile internet suspended. Dipke, Saurav Das and Ashutosh Ranka are detained from their Air India flight on landing. Thousands are detained; counts range from about 2,000 to 7,000.

    Sources: UNI · ThePrint (PTI) · Business Today · Qatar Tribune (DPA)

    Disputed: the accounts conflict. Both are given, with their sources. How we label

  3. Oct 11
    Confirmed

    The three leaders are released by an Executive Magistrate on condition of no breach of peace for one year, with a Rs 50,000 bond. Dipke's family says the delay made him miss his grandmother's funeral; police say due procedure was followed.

    Sources: Khaleej Times · ThePrint (PTI)

    Confirmed by independent reports from Khaleej Times and PTI. How we label

  4. Oct 12
    Reported

    Opposition workers and activists, led by Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, march toward the Supreme Court demanding the Chief Election Commissioner’s resignation.

    Sources: AP (via WDIV)

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  5. Oct 12
    Confirmed

    Delhi Police remove Jantar Mantar from the list of official protest sites.

    Sources: AP (via WDIV) · AFP (via Türkiye Today)

    Confirmed by independent reports from AP and AFP. How we label

  6. Oct 13
    Confirmed

    About a dozen people are detained after climbing barricades to enter Jantar Mantar, including CJP spokespeople Saurav Das and Ashutosh Ranka. Police accuse them of trespassing and defying prohibitory orders.

    Sources: AP (via WDIV) · AFP (via Türkiye Today)

    Confirmed by independent reports from AP and AFP. How we label

  7. Oct 14
    Confirmed

    A local court sends Das and Ranka to five days’ judicial custody. The CJP says they are being punished for raising the national flag at Jantar Mantar; police say the site is no longer an official protest venue.

    Sources: AP (via WDIV) · AFP (via Türkiye Today)

    Confirmed by independent reports from AP and AFP. How we label

  8. Oct 15
    Confirmed

    The civic authority closes Central Park in Connaught Place for two days, citing administrative reasons, after the CJP calls a flag-raising rally there. Delhi Police urge people not to join and offer to let a small group carry the flag at a suitable place.

    Sources: Al Jazeera · The Diplomatic Insight

    Confirmed by independent reports from Al Jazeera and The Diplomatic Insight. How we label

  9. Oct 15
    Confirmed

    Authorities issue actor Imran Khan a notice to leave India by October 28 under immigration law, after he joined a protest in Mumbai on October 10 demanding the Chief Election Commissioner’s resignation. Police say action was taken under the Immigration Act; reports say he is not an Indian citizen.

    Sources: Deccan Chronicle (ANI) · Telangana Today (IANS) · Reuters (via TimesLIVE)

    Confirmed by independent reports from ANI, IANS and Reuters. How we label

  10. Oct 15
    Confirmed

    Khan plans to challenge the notice in the Bombay High Court; PTI reports his plea argues that no law bars an Overseas Citizen of India cardholder from taking part in a protest.

    Sources: Deccan Chronicle (PTI) · Bar and Bench

    Confirmed by independent reports from PTI and Bar and Bench. How we label

  11. Oct 16
    Confirmed

    Police bar gatherings around Connaught Place under Section 163 restrictions and serve founder Abhijeet Dipke a notice; police say waving the flag is not illegal but an unpermitted march is. More than 6,000 police are deployed, per a police briefing reported by ETV Bharat.

    Sources: Dawn (AFP, Reuters) · Gulf News · ETV Bharat live updates

    Confirmed by independent reports from AFP, Reuters, Gulf News and ETV Bharat. How we label

  12. Oct 16
    Confirmed

    Police detain Dipke outside the house where he was staying, shortly before the rally; AISA president Neha Bora is detained separately on her way. Dipke asks how he can be held when he has broken no law; police give no immediate comment.

    Sources: Dawn (AFP, Reuters) · Telangana Today (PTI) · Gulf News

    Confirmed by independent reports from AFP, Reuters, PTI and Gulf News. How we label

  13. Oct 16
    Confirmed

    Hundreds gather in flash protests at Connaught Place and Mandi House, waving the national flag. Police say about 150 people have been detained and describe the situation as peaceful; no injuries are reported.

    Sources: ThePrint (PTI) · The Week · The Tribune live updates

    Confirmed by independent reports from PTI, The Week and The Tribune. How we label

  14. Oct 16
    Alleged

    AISA says its president Neha Bora was taken to an unknown location after her detention. Police have not responded to the claim.

    Sources: The Week

    Alleged: one side's claim, not independently confirmed. How we label

  15. Oct 16
    Reported

    Police sources say Dipke was taken to Jafarpur Kalan police station; the CJP says on X that it has lost contact with him. AISA says Bora is being held at an Anti-Narcotics Task Force office, and police say those detained were held for law-and-order and traffic reasons.

    Sources: The Siasat Daily (PTI)

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  16. Oct 16
    Reported

    Former West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee calls Dipke's detention an undeclared Emergency. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh accuses the Congress and its allies of making young people "pawns in the politics of anarchy", and BJP leader Dilip Ghosh accuses the CJP of disrupting Navratri and Durga Puja celebrations.

    Sources: Deccan Chronicle · The Tribune live updates

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  17. Oct 16
    Alleged

    The CJP says Dipke has not been allowed to speak to lawyers and asks Delhi Police to disclose where he is being held. ANI reports no immediate response from police, who placed him under preventive detention under Section 163 prohibitory orders.

    Sources: ANI

    Alleged: one side's claim, not independently confirmed. How we label

  18. Oct 17
    Confirmed

    Delhi Police say AISA president Neha Bora was released early on Saturday after formalities under the Delhi Police Act. Dipke has been arrested under preventive sections 126 and 170 of the BNSS, and police sources say he will be produced before a Special Executive Magistrate later on Saturday.

    Sources: ThePrint (PTI) · IANS

    Confirmed by independent reports from PTI and IANS. How we label

  19. Oct 17
    Confirmed

    Delhi Police register multiple FIRs over alleged violations of Section 163 prohibitory orders during Friday's protests in Connaught Place and other parts of New Delhi, and say repeat offenders will face action. Police say displaying the national flag was not banned, but processions or assemblies without permission could lead to legal action.

    Sources: The Statesman · The Hans India

    Confirmed by independent reports from The Statesman and The Hans India. How we label

  20. Oct 17
    Confirmed

    A Special Executive Magistrate grants Dipke conditional bail and directs him to furnish a peace bond; LiveLaw reports one condition requires him to keep the peace for one year. Reports say he will be released once bond formalities are completed.

    Sources: Bar & Bench · LiveLaw · Aaj Tak

    Confirmed by independent reports from Bar & Bench, LiveLaw and Aaj Tak. How we label

  21. Oct 17
    Confirmed

    Dipke is released on Saturday after the magistrate hearing. CJP legal head Ratna Singh says he agreed to conditions she did not detail; The Week reports that several lawyers were kept out of the hearing by security.

    Sources: Reuters (via ThePrint) · The Week

    Confirmed by independent reports from Reuters and The Week. How we label

  22. Oct 17
    Confirmed

    Imran Khan files a petition in the Bombay High Court seeking an urgent stay of the order to leave India by October 28. The petition says the Foreigners Regional Registration Office did not specify the violation it alleges and asks the court to order it to produce its records.

    Sources: The Week · The Hawk (IANS)

    Confirmed by independent reports from The Week and IANS. How we label

  23. Oct 17
    Reported

    The Week reports that the petition will be mentioned for an urgent hearing on Monday. No response from the authorities to the petition has been reported.

    Sources: The Week

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  24. Oct 17
    Reported

    The Foreigners Regional Registration Office separately issued Khan a show-cause notice on October 17 asking why his Overseas Citizen of India registration should not be cancelled under Section 7D of the Citizenship Act; Khan has not challenged that notice in his court petition, Bollywood Hungama reports.

    Sources: Bollywood Hungama

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  25. Oct 19
    Reported

    Police tell the court that the previous magistrate received an anonymous threatening WhatsApp message and that a separate daily diary entry was recorded over it. The court calls Das and Ranka's record of calling protests in de-notified areas “habitual”, rejects two proposed sureties as unfit, and lists the case for October 21 for fresh sureties.

    Sources: OpIndia

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  26. Oct 19
    Confirmed

    The Bombay High Court schedules Imran Khan's petition against the 'Leave India' notice for October 26, declining his lawyer's request for October 21, and asks him to make the Maharashtra government a party so the court can check for any criminal record, Bollywood Hungama and Daijiworld report.

    Sources: Bollywood Hungama · Daijiworld

    Confirmed by independent reports from Bollywood Hungama and Daijiworld. How we label

  27. Oct 19
    Reported

    Khan's senior counsel, Venkatesh Dhond, tells the court Khan was stopped en route to a protest and has no criminal record; no ruling on Khan's request to stay the October 28 deadline has been reported, with that expected at the October 26 hearing, Bollywood Hungama and Daijiworld report.

    Sources: Bollywood Hungama · Daijiworld

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  28. Oct 19
    Confirmed

    A Special Executive Magistrate court in Delhi extends the judicial custody of CJP spokespeople Saurav Das and Ashutosh Ranka by two days after their initial five-day remand ends, following a request from Delhi Police; the order's basis has not been made public, The South First and ThePrint report.

    Sources: The South First · ThePrint

    Confirmed by independent reports from The South First and ThePrint. How we label

  29. Oct 19
    Reported

    CJP legal head Ratna Singh calls the extension "absurd" and accuses Delhi Police and prosecutors of "deliberate delay tactics," saying a hearing set for noon was repeatedly postponed until about 5:30pm, The South First reports.

    Sources: The South First

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  30. Oct 19
    Reported

    Defence lawyer Pushp Sharma says the magistrate questioned sureties alone and rejected one over what he calls a "hypertechnical" passport-photo mismatch; senior advocate Vikas Pahwa calls the continued detention "illegal custody," arguing the law cited has no provision for holding someone over an already-filed bond, ThePrint reports.

    Sources: ThePrint

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  31. Oct 20
    Confirmed

    The CJP moves the Delhi High Court seeking the immediate release of Das and Ranka, arguing their continued custody despite furnished sureties violates their fundamental right to liberty under Article 21; the party says on X it has sought an urgent hearing, ANI and The Statesman report.

    Sources: ANI · The Statesman

    Confirmed by independent reports from ANI and The Statesman. How we label

  32. Oct 20
    Reported

    Das and Ranka's lawyers seek an urgent night hearing from the Delhi High Court against the custody extension, but the court does not take up the plea that night, Organiser reports; the two have been held in Tihar Jail since October 14.

    Sources: Organiser

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  33. Oct 21
    Confirmed

    The Delhi High Court agrees to urgently hear Das and Ranka's plea against the custody extension; the petition argues the Special Executive Magistrate's powers were used arbitrarily and that they were not given a chance to present sureties they had ready, The Wire and IANS report. No ruling is reported yet, and the two are separately due before the magistrate as their extended custody expires.

    Sources: The Wire · Punjab Kesari (IANS)

    Confirmed by independent reports from The Wire and IANS. How we label

  34. Oct 21
    Confirmed

    Hearing the plea, Justice Subramonium Prasad of the Delhi High Court declines to grant relief, saying a writ petition was not the appropriate remedy for an alleged repeat breach of a peace bond and that the correct course was revision; the court says it made no observations on the merits, and Das and Ranka withdraw the plea "for the time being" after the judge notes the Special Executive Magistrate's court would reconsider their sureties later that day, Bar and Bench and Onmanorama report.

    Sources: Bar and Bench · Onmanorama

    Confirmed by independent reports from Bar and Bench and Onmanorama. How we label

  35. Oct 21
    Confirmed

    The Special Executive Magistrate's court rejects Delhi Police's bid to extend Das and Ranka's custody by three more days and orders their release; ANI reports the court accepted fresh surety bonds. India TV News and Oneindia report the two walked out of Tihar Jail on October 21 after furnishing personal bonds of Rs 50,000 each, matching sureties, an apology over a media statement, and written undertakings to keep the peace and not call for protests at Jantar Mantar until it is renotified as a protest site.

    Sources: ANI · India TV News · Oneindia

    Confirmed by independent reports from ANI, India TV News and Oneindia. How we label

  36. Oct 21
    Confirmed

    Both outlets report Das and Ranka must attend every future hearing along with their sureties, Delhi Police must verify the sureties by the next date, and the case returns before the SEM court on October 23 at 3pm. India TV News reports they had separately withdrawn parallel petitions from the Delhi High Court before the SEM hearing.

    Sources: India TV News · Oneindia

    Confirmed by independent reports from India TV News and Oneindia. How we label

  37. Oct 21
    Confirmed

    UN human rights experts call on India to immediately stop using "excessive force" against CJP-led protesters, saying police have used lathi charges against unarmed students and voicing particular concern about reports of sexual violence and gender-based abuse; they urge an impartial investigation and an end to blanket assembly bans and internet disruptions, Reuters and Al Jazeera report. India has dismissed the criticism as interference in its internal affairs.

    Sources: Internazionale (Reuters) · Al Jazeera

    Confirmed by independent reports from Reuters and Al Jazeera. How we label

  38. Oct 21
    Reported

    Freddy Francis, who helped found the CJP's Kerala unit, says he has quit any official role in it, citing "serious disagreements" over the unit's fundraising practices and what he calls immature political statements he felt undermined the movement's character, Kerala Kaumudi reports.

    Sources: Kerala Kaumudi

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  39. Oct 22
    Confirmed

    Delhi Police's Crime Branch, now handling the Jantar Mantar trespassing case against Das and Ranka, summons them and associate Ajinkya Shinde to its Rajouri Garden office on October 22; all three seek more time and do not appear, ThePrint, Deccan Herald, Free Press Journal and The Wire report. No reason for the request is reported, and fresh summons are expected.

    Sources: ThePrint · Deccan Herald · Free Press Journal · The Wire · ANI

    Confirmed by independent reports from ThePrint, Deccan Herald, Free Press Journal, The Wire and ANI. How we label

  40. Oct 23
    Reported

    A Special Executive Magistrate court verifies the sureties of Das, Ranka and Shinde and lists the case for the third week of November; Ranka says the verification "went well" and that the three had told police in advance they would miss the Crime Branch's October 22 summons while awaiting new dates, ANI reports.

    Sources: ANI

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  41. Oct 23
    Confirmed

    The Delhi High Court dismisses AISA president Neha Bora's separate petition against a Special Executive Magistrate's notice ordering her to execute a Rs 10,000 peace bond; Justice Subramonium Prasad rules the law gives the magistrate "sufficient safeguards" and directs that she be given all material relevant to the case, Siasat and APN Live report. The notice remains in force; whether she must furnish the bond immediately or during the inquiry is left to the magistrate.

    Sources: Siasat · APN Live

    Confirmed by independent reports from Siasat and APN Live. How we label

  42. Oct 28
    Confirmed

    The Cockroach Janta Party announced its support for the opposition INDIA bloc's scheduled November 1 rally, demanding the resignation of Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar over alleged voter deletions during the Special Intensive Revision exercise, Deccan Chronicle and Outlook report.

    Sources: Deccan Chronicle · Outlook

    Confirmed by independent reports from Deccan Chronicle and Outlook. How we label

  43. Oct 29
    Reported

    The Madras High Court has issued notices, returnable in six weeks, to the Union government, law-enforcement agencies and CJP spokesperson Saurav Das on a public-interest petition seeking a probe into his identity and nationality, News18 reports. The petitioner, a Chennai resident, alleges Das made contemptuous remarks about the judiciary and asks for his social media accounts to be blocked; these are the petitioner's allegations, and Das's response was not reported.

    Sources: News18

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  44. Oct 30
    Reported

    Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge declined to comment on whether Cockroach Janta Party leaders will join the opposition's November 1 rally in Delhi, PTI reports. PTI had earlier erroneously reported that he replied in the negative; his office said he did not wish to comment, and the party has extended support to the rally.

    Sources: ThePrint (PTI)

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  45. Oct 30
    Reported

    At the opening Delhi show of his India tour, singer Diljit Dosanjh answered critics of his June remark distancing himself from the CJP's NEET protests, saying “Don't teach Punjabis how to fight”, and raised the censorship dispute over Satluj, his film about activist Jaswant Singh Khalra, Deccan Chronicle reports.

    Sources: Deccan Chronicle

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  46. Oct 31
    Confirmed

    Cockroach Janta Party president Abhijeet Dipke posted an Instagram note to singer Diljit Dosanjh saying he was hurt by the singer's June comments on the protests and asking to end the row, News18, Hindustan Times and The Tribune report. Hindustan Times reports Diljit had told his Delhi concert audience, without naming the party, "I support all of you. But don't teach Punjabis how to fight."

    Sources: Hindustan Times · News18 · The Tribune

    Confirmed by independent reports from Hindustan Times, News18 and The Tribune. How we label

  47. Oct 31
    Confirmed

    Cockroach Janta Party founder Abhijeet Dipke said the party backs the INDIA bloc's November 1 Ramlila Maidan rally against Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar but will not take part, calling the CJP "a neutral platform", Hindustan Times, Outlook India and The Tribune report. He spoke after meeting Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee on Saturday, who praised the CJP's youth activists and invited them to organise programmes in West Bengal, The Tribune and The Times of India report. Hindustan Times reports about 10,000 police and paramilitary personnel are deployed in central Delhi, with police planning for about 50,000 people while the bloc expects nearly a million.

    Sources: Hindustan Times · Outlook India · The Tribune · The Times of India

    Confirmed by independent reports from Hindustan Times, Outlook India, The Tribune and The Times of India. How we label

  48. Nov 1
    Confirmed

    Tens of thousands join the INDIA opposition bloc's rally at New Delhi's Ramlila Maidan, led by Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and backed by the Cockroach Janta Party, demanding Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar resign over a voter-list revision that removed more than 130 million names, AP and Reuters report. Health Minister J.P. Nadda calls it a "carefully orchestrated drama"; the Election Commission denies favouring any party and says wrongly removed voters can register again.

    Sources: Al Jazeera (Reuters) · AP (via KPRC)

    Confirmed by independent reports from Reuters and AP. How we label

  49. Nov 3
    Reported

    An advocate asked Maharashtra's Advocate General for consent to bring criminal contempt proceedings against a Cockroach Janta Party co-convenor over a November 3 post on X about judges hearing a Bombay High Court case, saying it attacked judicial integrity, the Free Press Journal reports. No response from the CJP was reported.

    Sources: Free Press Journal

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  50. Nov 4
    Reported

    Delhi government counsel gave consent for criminal contempt proceedings against the Cockroach Janta Party's legal head over posts alleging a Saket court judge acted on outside orders, calling his view prima facie; the Delhi High Court will decide whether the case goes ahead, ETV Bharat reports.

    Sources: ETV Bharat

    Reported: not yet confirmed by a second independent source. How we label

  51. Nov 5
    Alleged

    Union Minister Jitendra Singh alleged at a press conference in Bengaluru on November 5 that CJP founder Abhijeet Dipke received money from US-based donors and co-founder Ashutosh Ranka from Pakistani politicians, saying there was enough evidence. The CJP questioned the credibility of officials making the claim, and Congress leader Priyank Kharge asked the government to produce proof, Outlook India, India Today and News18 reported.

    Sources: Outlook India · India Today · News18

    Alleged: one side's claim, not independently confirmed. How we label

  52. Nov 21
    Checking

    The Special Executive Magistrate hearing for the CJP leaders summoned over the Jantar Mantar protest listed for the third week of November, and whether the Crime Branch reissues its summons to them. Still being checked.

    Sources: ANI · Siasat · APN Live · The Week · ThePrint

    Checking: expected or unresolved. We will update this when the outcome is known. How we label

Disputed claims

Both sides, with sources.

What the Chief Justice meant

Disputed

One account

Reports and critics: he likened unemployed youth to cockroaches and parasites.

Sources: Free Press Journal (PTI)

Other account

The Chief Justice: he was misquoted and meant people entering professions with fake degrees.

Sources: The Quint

Status: Both accounts are on record.

Who took down the CJP's accounts and website

Alleged

One account

Dipke: the government.

Sources: Al Jazeera

Other account

X and Meta notices cite a legal request but name no requester. The government has not confirmed the website takedown or the hacking.

Sources: Outlook · Free Press Journal

Status: The country-level withholding is confirmed. Who requested it, and the hacking, are not.

Where the CJP's followers are

Disputed

One account

Some BJP figures and right-wing influencers: a large share are in Pakistan.

Sources: Alt News

Other account

Dipke shared analytics showing more than 94% in India; Alt News reviewed a screen recording of the page's data.

Sources: Alt News · Khaleej Times (Reuters)

Status: No independent audit.

The July 20 violence

Disputed

One account

The CJP: a brutal crackdown on peaceful protesters, with police charging after inviting them for talks.

Sources: AP (via WTOP) · AP

Other account

Delhi Police: the march was unauthorised, and about 180 people were injured, including 118 security personnel and 60 protesters. Some local reports say stones thrown injured about 50 officers.

Sources: AP · NPR

Status: Force and injuries on both sides are confirmed. Figures differ; one monitor estimates 60 to 150 protesters injured.

Were the July 25 demands met?

Disputed

One account

A government minister on July 25: all demands were accepted.

Sources: Al Jazeera

Other account

The CJP since August: criminal cases not withdrawn, compensation not paid, written assurance not given.

Sources: Sentinel Assam · The Week

Status: Disputed and ongoing.

The October 10 detentions

Disputed

One account

The CJP: a pre-planned move to cripple the protest's leadership.

Sources: UNI

Other account

Police: preventive arrests for an unauthorised protest, with due legal procedure.

Sources: ThePrint (PTI) · Khaleej Times

Status: Both on record. Detention counts range from about 2,000 to 7,000; the CJP says 10,000 nationwide.

The voter-roll revision

Disputed

One account

Critics and opposition parties: deletions, about 130 million names per data they cite, hit minorities and favour the BJP.

Sources: Khaleej Times

Other account

The Election Commission and the BJP deny any manipulation.

Sources: Khaleej Times

Status: Disputed. This is the context for Season 2.

Is the CJP partisan?

Disputed

One account

Opponents: an opposition gimmick, citing Dipke's past work for the Aam Aadmi Party.

Sources: Reuters via Aaj

Other account

Dipke: he will not support any party and has no immediate plans to form one.

Sources: Reuters via Aaj

Status: Both on record.

Accountability log

Arrests, bans, investigations and court cases.

DateActionByLabel
May 21CJP X account withheld in IndiaX, after a legal demandConfirmed
May 23Website down; CJP and founder's Instagram accounts hackedAttributed to the government by DipkeAlleged
Jul 19–20Gatherings of five or more banned outside Jantar Mantar; mobile internet suspended in DelhiDelhi Police and authoritiesConfirmed
Jul 20Tear gas and baton charges; 70 detained in Delhi, more in Mumbai and BengaluruPoliceConfirmed
Jul 21Rahul Gandhi detained during a sit-inDelhi PoliceReported
Jul 22CJP Instagram withheld in IndiaMeta, after a legal requestConfirmed
Aug 15CJP Instagram inaccessible in India for about two hoursMeta; no reason givenReported
AugustCase filed against Dipke and five others over a visit to a government school in LaturMaharashtra policeReported
OngoingCriminal cases against protesters; the Supreme Court reportedly asked the government for a list on Aug 18Various state policeReported
Oct 10Leaders detained from an aircraft; mass detentions; metro and mobile internet shut in central DelhiDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 10Dhruv Rathee detained at his Gurugram home ahead of the protestPoliceReported
Oct 11Leaders released on condition of no breach of peace for one yearExecutive Magistrate, Delhi CanttConfirmed
Oct 12Jantar Mantar removed from the list of official protest sitesDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 13About a dozen detained at Jantar Mantar, including CJP spokespeople Das and RankaDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 14Das and Ranka sent to five days’ judicial custodyLocal court, New DelhiConfirmed
Oct 15Central Park, Connaught Place, closed for two days before a CJP rallyCivic authorityConfirmed
Oct 15Notice to leave India by October 28 issued to actor Imran Khan after he joined the October 10 Mumbai protestMumbai Police / Foreigners Regional Registration OfficeConfirmed
Oct 16Gatherings barred around Connaught Place; notice served on DipkeDelhi Police (Section 163, BNSS)Confirmed
Oct 16CJP founder Dipke and AISA president Neha Bora detained before the rallyDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 16About 150 people detained at flash protests in central DelhiDelhi Police (figure from police)Confirmed
Oct 17Dipke arrested under preventive BNSS sections 126 and 170; Bora releasedDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 17Multiple FIRs registered over alleged violations of prohibitory orders during the October 16 protestsDelhi PoliceConfirmed
Oct 17Dipke granted conditional bail on a peace bondSpecial Executive Magistrate, New DelhiConfirmed
Oct 17Imran Khan files a petition in the Bombay High Court seeking a stay of the order to leave IndiaBombay High Court (petition filed)Confirmed
Oct 19Bombay High Court schedules Imran Khan's petition for October 26; asks that Maharashtra be made a partyBombay High CourtConfirmed
Oct 17Show-cause notice issued to Imran Khan over possible cancellation of his OCI registrationForeigners Regional Registration OfficeReported
Oct 19Das and Ranka's judicial custody extended by two days; court cites “habitualness” in calling protests in de-notified areas; case listed for October 21 after two proposed sureties were rejectedSpecial Executive Magistrate court, DelhiConfirmed
Oct 21Plea against the custody extension declined relief and withdrawn; court says the remedy lies in revision, not a writ petitionDelhi High CourtConfirmed
Oct 21Custody-extension bid rejected; release ordered for Das and Ranka on personal bonds, sureties and written undertakings not to protest at Jantar Mantar until renotifiedSpecial Executive Magistrate's court, DelhiConfirmed
Oct 22Das, Ranka and Shinde summoned over the Jantar Mantar trespassing case; sought more time and did not appearDelhi Police Crime BranchConfirmed
Oct 23Sureties for Das, Ranka and Shinde verified; case listed for the third week of NovemberSpecial Executive Magistrate's court, DelhiReported
Oct 23AISA president Neha Bora's petition against a peace-bond notice dismissedDelhi High CourtConfirmed

Places

Delhi NCRJantar Mantar sit-in Jun 6 to Jul 25; Jul 20 march; Oct 10 detentions; Gurugram, Oct 10
DharamshalaStudent march in support, Jul 24
MumbaiDetentions, Jul 20 and Jul 23
LaturCase against Dipke over a school visit, August
HyderabadSolidarity protest, Jul 24
BengaluruDetentions Jul 20; Season 2 rally Oct 8

How this page is made

Our method, corrections and open questions

Only published reporting and publicly posted material. AI helps gather, check and organize it. Routine updates are published automatically once they pass our sourcing and fairness checks; anything sensitive is held back for a stricter editorial review. Our full standards.

Corrections

  • Oct 17, 2026: The AISA president's surname was misspelled as "Bohra" in earlier updates. It is Bora.
  • Oct 17, 2026: Two timeline entries, the July 21 sit-in by Congress MPs (AP) and the October 8 Bengaluru rally (AFP), were labelled confirmed but rested on a single outlet each. They are now labelled reported.

Still being checked

  • What happened at the September 5 march
  • Supreme Court hearing on September 10
  • Official NEET re-exam date and outcome
  • Number and status of cases against protesters
  • Government and Election Commission statements in full
  • Full bail conditions for Dipke, and whether all others detained on October 16 have been released
  • Number of FIRs registered over the October 16 protests and who is named in them
  • The outcome of the October 26 Bombay High Court hearing on Imran Khan's petition, any ruling on his stay request, and whether the FRRO proceeds with cancelling his OCI registration
  • The outcome of the November third-week SEM hearing for Das, Ranka and Shinde, and when the Crime Branch reissues its summons to them
  • Whether Neha Bora appeals the Delhi High Court's dismissal of her plea, or must furnish the Rs 10,000 peace bond

Spot something wrong? Tell us. No name needed.

Add context

Know something this page is missing? Tell us

Point us to public reporting, an official statement or a side of the story we haven't shown. Every note is checked against public reporting before anything is published, and nothing is posted under your name. No name or email needed; we don't store your IP address. Please don't include anyone's private details.

Sources

Show all 123 sources
From the ground